Tech Integrator Tip: How to Successfully Not Know It All

I have to admit that I have come a long way in my 14 years of teaching and guiding technology use. In my early days I struggled to know everything I needed to teach, and to make it rigorous and full of depth. Usually I just made it hard and confusing- for both me and my students.

Now that I’m “of a certain age” I have given myself permission to “Not Know It All” and be good at it. Yesterday was a good example of it (and one that worked out really well) so I thought I’d share a bit of what happened.

I am a tech integrator with a degree in horse training. I’m a good problem solver and pretty savvy- but there is a lot I don’t know. So, in the past, when the kids and parents asked if I could teach programming, I put them off without really telling them them that I could sooner teach them how to build a backhoe.

This year’s Hour of Code gave me a chance to provide a coding opportunity for the MS/HS community.  In a nutshell, the Hour of Code is a program running during Computer Science Education Week. It’s sponsored by Code.org. They provide tutorials for different kinds of coding that are geared towards kids in a number of areas. The goal was to get 10 million kids worldwide to do one hour of coding during this week.

The directions from the site suggested choosing one of their tutorials, going through it so you’d be familiar with the process and could help the kids, and then presenting it to the kids at the Hour of Code event. I did the first part (and discovered 30 years too late how much I like programming…) but decided not to limit them to what MY experience was.

Instead, I showed an introductory video (I liked “What Most Schools Don’t Teach“) and then had the kids log in. From there, they moved to a table that had the sign for the tutorial they wanted to do. Topics were varied- learning Javascript, Designing a Game, Scratch, and Building an IOS App among them. With this model, kids could work through the tutorials with other kids who were working on the same thing. They instinctively asked each other for help- and sometimes, because we had both middle school and high school kids together, the high school experts left what they were doing to troubleshoot with their younger colleagues.

Had I been the one who had to “own” the information, very little learning would have occurred- for ANY of us. As it was, each kid worked at the pace that worked for them, getting just the help they needed when they needed it it. I wish I could share the way their faces lit up when they had their (many) AHA moments.

I’ll for sure put this model at the top of my toolbox.

One response to “Tech Integrator Tip: How to Successfully Not Know It All

  1. I also used this approach for my students, and I loved it (like you, I’m a coding late bloomer). Because I had some student leaders try many of the tutorials in advance, we could offer recommendations for tutorials students might particularly enjoy. It was a great experience for all involved.

Leave a Reply

